website wallpaper home button About us button Back Header photo 2016 contact button

West Green Primary School

info for parent button blank West Green Primary School Badge-Logo 13-10-10 Back blank blank Back Back


Like all schools, a Board of Governors oversees life at West Green Primary. The Governing Body has wide-ranging responsibilities and powers and works with the Headteacher and staff to:


  • Agree the aims and values of the school

  • Make decisions on the budget and approve School Development Plans

  • Ensure that the National Curriculum is taught

  • Monitor and review the school’s progress

  • Ensure that individual pupil’s needs are met, including special needs

  • Be involved in the recruitment of staff

  • Provide information about school for parents

  • Produce action plans following Inspection

  • Establish and maintain positive links with the local community


The Governors meet twice a term as a full body and each governor also sits on one of two subcommittees, which also meet once a term. The two subcommittees are:


Finance- responsible for the financial & physical resources of the school.


Standards - responsible for staff selection, school policyand ensuring that the National Curriculum is taught in the school.


In addition, some governors have particular responsibilities for overseeing certain aspects of the school’s work, for example, special educational needs or health & safety. The governors subscribe to and attend the LA’s training programme designed for them.


The size and composition of the Governing Body is laid down by law and Governors are appointed or elected by specific bodies or groups, but Governors are not delegates who must vote according to the wishes of those groups. The groups are: Parent governors, Staff governors, LA governors, and Co-opted governors.


If you are interested in becoming a school governor or you would like to talk to a governor, please email

Mrs Jill Wilson - Chair of Governors

Mr Andrew Hodgson - Headteacher

Mr Chris Hall - Co-opted Governor

Mrs Hilary Benham - Co-opted Governor

Mrs Sabrina Riadat - Co-opted Governor

Mrs Parveen Khan - Parent Governor

Mrs Lisa Legge, Parent Governor

Mrs Kathryn Estes, Parent Governor

Mrs Sue Burrage - Clerk to Governors

Mrs Rebecca Moore - Staff Governor

Mrs Faye Bailey - Associate Member

or more information on each Governor, please refer to the following documents:

2016 /2017

2017 / 2018

Our School Governors

outside front corridoor